Yoga saved me

I didn’t know what I was getting into when I walked into my first ever yoga class with Elle Basten at YYoga in Vancouver. It was a Yin class, and this type of yoga involves holding a postures for longer periods of time to allow for strengthening and relaxation of deeper connective tissue, such as the ligaments, bones, and even the joints of the body.  It complements all the other types of yoga, like Ashtanga, Vinyasa, and Hatha, which are classified as Yang Yoga and target the muscles and superficial tissues.

Tree Pose at Qutub Minar, Delhi, India

Elle was an incredible teacher, and I ended up falling in love with her Yin and Flow classes.  She had a beaming smile, peaceful presence, and a gentle way of teaching and correcting your postures.  My favourite part of class though was when she would read or share something that was inspiring for her that day.

All the yoga teachers I’ve met since I’ve began practicing seem to have beautiful souls, share it openly with others, and help people open themselves up to the beauty of people, moments and life around them.  It is hard not to love them.

Through yoga, and the wisdom of its teachers, I feel reconnected with the light inside my soul and gain the courage to bring it to the world around me.  I feel an expansion in my heart and body, and through the creation of this opening, I experience a release and letting go of things I am holding on to.  Through stretching and strengthening my body, I do the same for my mind.

Most of all, through yoga, I have realized how much potential I truly have.  I have realized my infinite capacity for humility, strength, and love.  I have gained confidence to embrace life as it come without attachment or resistance, and have learned to choose it all, every day.

Yoga and the people I meet through it continue to inspire me to no end.  So much so, that I now have a goal of becoming a Kundalini Yoga teacher someday.

Yoga has been a gift in my life.  As a gift for you all, here is a beautiful story which made my day about Yoga’s power:  http://www.godvine.com/Man-Barely-Able-to-Stand-on-his-Own-Does-the-Unthinkable-Amazing-1476.html

With deep love and respect,

Namaste.

Sahil

