MAKE A THANK CALL

IMG_3426

“You’ll never regret giving more than expected, being kinder than necessary and risking more than is normal.”  – Robin Sharma

 

 

I met Blake Fleischacker while I was attending a leadership conference last fall in Toronto, and I’m glad to say that we’re now friends.  He was one of the keynote speakers, and during his presentation he introduced and demonstrated a “Thank Call”.

 

What is a Thank Call?

 

It involves stopping what you’re doing, thinking about someone you are grateful for in your life, and calling them to tell them exactly how you feel about them.

Talk about scary right?  As I sat there listening to Blake, I realized that although I am grateful for people in my life and like to send them thank you notes and emails, I rarely just call them on the whim.

It is something I’ve started to do, and it is truly an exhilarating experience.  Just recently, I called one of my best friends and told her how beautiful of a person I think she is, how much she inspires me, and how proud I am to have her in my life.  We’ve been good friends for a while and usually catch up on each other’s lives when we speak.  But the conversation we had when I made the Thank Call brought us so much closer as friends, and we now regularly tell each other we love each other.

 

I wonder why we rarely tell people how much we care about them?  Why do we wait until moments of strife, illness or death to express how we feel about someone?

 

We all know that we have a limited time to live.  Yet, sometimes, we act as if we have forever.  We shy away from being vulnerable, laying out our feelings, and connecting with people over the phone or face to face just because email or social media is quick and convenient.  Or we tell ourselves we’ll do it “someday”, and eventually those “somedays” never come because we fall back into our busy lives.

Don’t wait until tomorrow to tell somebody you love them.  Do it now.  Surprise them now.  I don’t care if you’re in a different time zone, and its 3am their time.  It can be as simple as calling them and saying: “I just having something to tell you.  I love you.”  Pour your heart out.  Show them how you feel.  Maybe they know, but do you think they ever get tired of hearing it?

 

Now is the time.  Make the call.  Make a difference in someone’s life.

 

Reconnectfully Yours,

 

Sahil

