Being Fully Human Tip # 12: My Upcoming Vacation from Social Media

photo-2

“I had three chairs in my house; one for solitude, two for friendship, three for society.”

– Henry David Thoreau

 

Have you ever found your mind buzzing from all the social media you’re on?  

 

With Facebook, Twitter, LinkedIn, Google Plus, and not to mention, my flurry of emails to check, I recently found myself a bit overwhelmed.

As a result, I’m going to try a little experiment and shut off from social media and blogging for 3 weeks.  Yes, 3 weeks.  That means no blogging (although I will still be writing in my journal), no Facebook posts about my speaking engagements in March, and no checking what others have shared on social media.

With the photo above as the view outside my house, I plan on spending some time in solitude to reflect.  I also plan on doing things in real life that take me away from my computer and out of my house.  This includes things I have been putting off, such as calling friends and meeting them in person, exploring my city, and deepening my yoga practice.  The time I lose or spend unnecessarily and inefficiently on social media will now create space for other activities.

I will see you all after March 21st, and will report back on how it goes and what I have learned from my stay-cation (my vacation from social media).  A stay-cation for me is where you cut yourself off from things and have a vacation while still in town.
What kind of stay-cation do you need?  What can you cut out or disconnect from for a short while to reconnect to yourself, others and your world?  

 

 

Reconnectfully Yours,

 

 

Sahil

 

