HOW HAVE YOU REACHED A GOAL BEFORE + FREE 21 DAY MOMENTUM CHALLENGE

This month’s blog posts and video shows will be focusing on “How to Take Action On Your Passion”.  For ways to connect with the Potentialists community, join the Facebook page, or visit the website.  Keep reconnecting to what matters!  

 

IMG_0005

“A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step.” – Lao Tzu

 

 

One of the things I find challenging is taking steps towards a goal I haven’t achieved before, or am not sure how to accomplish. 

 

Not knowing where to start, what is the best next step, and feeling pressure to keep moving forward are all things I experience when I feel this way.  Have you ever felt the same way?

This past weekend, I had a few conversations that made me see that it isn’t just me that goes through this.  A friend of mine was wondering how to go about developing her start up idea; my parents were thinking of the best approach for their upcoming move into a new house; and my sister and I were both speaking about ways in which we can take our health to a higher state than ever before.

 

Charting into unknown and new territory is naturally scary.  One thing that helps me is being able to think about how I’ve approached achieving a difficult goal in the past and how I made it happen.

 

An example of a time when I did this was when I ran my first (and only so far) half marathon in February of 2011.  Dissecting my process, I realize there are many common things I did and learned from working towards that goal that can be transferred to other goals I will work on going forward.  Here are some of those insights:

 

1.    I committed to an end goal

Every goal has means and ends.  In this case, my end goal was to complete a half marathon in less than 2 hours.

 

2.    I wrote the goal out somewhere I could see every day

There is immense power in this.  Writing a SMART goal means making it a specific focused goal, that is both ambitious yet realistic.  The next part of what helped to achieve this goal was that there was a deadline by which I wanted to achieve the goal.  In this case, the race I chose to run was in February 2011.

 

3.    I wrote out how achieving the goal will make me feel

At the end of the day, we all want to reduce experiences involving negative feelings and increase our positive ones.  When thinking about how achieving my goal of running a half marathon would make me feel, I wrote words like “unstoppable”, “radiant”, “powerful”, “proud”, and “confident that I can achieve anything else”.

What is even more powerful about this step is that on those days it was rainy or cold, and I really didn’t want to go out for my training runs, looking at this list of how achieving the goal would make me feel brought on a rush of those feelings and kept me inspired to keep training.

 

4.    Instead of obsessing over the end goal, I focused on the smaller steps

Achieving a big goal involves many small steps.  By committing to this goal, it meant that I had to first sign up in the fall of 2010, and buy running shoes and proper running clothes for all kinds of weather.

Then I committed to my training routine that involved a weekly long run, track work out, and hill training.  It also involved signing up for a running clinic through the Running Room, and asking lots of questions from my clinic running coach to keep improving.  In this process, I kept reminding myself that I am learning and growing, and that in order to do so, I had to be aware of my obstacles and weaknesses, and seek out and openly receive feedback.

 

5.    The bigger the dream, the better the team

A big part of what helped me train was that I knew two of my friends I had made in the running clinic would be calling me to go for a run or picking me up to go to the training.  We kept each other accountable, cheered each other on when we were doing gruelling runs up and down hills, and gave out lots of high fives and hugs to keep others inspired.

Finding a community to achieve your goals is something I have since become very passionate about creating.  Whether it is attending one of my Dream Circles, or joining me in this month’s free 21 Day Momentum Challenge hosted a great blogger friend Jonathan Mead, there are many ways that exist to help you stay on track towards your goal.

 

When it was all said and done, I ran my first half marathon in February 2011 in one hour and fifty-one minutes.  I felt the way I thought I would feel by achieving my goal, the small steps I took in my run training clinics each time helped me get better and stronger each day, all with an awesome community of runners along side of me.

How have you reached a goal before?  What has worked for you that you can share with me?  What can you learn from it to apply to a goal you’re currently working towards?

 

Reconnectfully Yours,

 

Sahil

 

