WHEN DID YOU STOP BEING CREATIVE?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Last night, I participated in a webinar on using EFT Tapping to clear emotional blockages. It is a great weekly online gathering, and I always leave feeling lighter, clearer, and energized. This week’s theme was about creativity.

It started with having us identify where we hold pain in our body.  Then, we were posed with the question “when did you stop being creative?”

 

I didn’t expect what would come up for me.

 

I was taken back to the times during my youth when I felt more creative. The times when I used to dance in my room to my red stereo, make up games, and spend time in my imagination dreaming up stories. There were also the times my cousin and I would take his dad’s video camera and make funny movies (or at least, we thought they were hilarious!).

I remember playing improvisational games with my little sister, dressing up in costumes, and creating skits. I remember winning a drama monologue award in grade 8, getting an A+ in first year drama in university, and being on the drama club. I remember enjoying drawing in my scrapbook, painting, and making things out of clay.

 

I remember how free, silly, and fun it all was.

 

The host of the webinar then asked us again “when did you stop being creative?”

I realized that I stopped doing as much visual arts, sketching, and painting because I felt I wasn’t as good as other kids in elementary school or high school. I realized that despite doing well in grade 8 drama, I didn’t take it at all in high school because the people around me said to focus on something “that would get me somewhere in life”.

I loved taking first year drama in university again, and the professor said I should continue because I was good at it. But I didn’t. I didn’t because my parents said it isn’t worth the money, and my friends questioned why I was taking courses like that for fun.

 

The things people say can really affect us.  

 

The host of the webinar then asked us to think about the things we have been holding on to against these people, society, or ourselves for not letting us express ourselves; the resentment, the anger, and the shame.

I was hurt, and it is okay that it hurt. But, it doesn’t have to hurt anymore.  I could now approach this hurt with compassion and forgiveness. I could look back at the child-like version of myself, and tell him that it is safe to come out and play again.

By forgiving, I am not forgetting what was said or done. But I am willing to let it go and make it stop preventing me from expressing my full creative potential.  I am also forgiving myself for holding on to it, trying to protect myself, and feeling entitled to do so.

In the end, our host encouraged us to think about how we feel without this block, and to spread this message of freeing ourselves to others around us.

 

We are all capable of getting unstuck, forgiving the past, and living in a child-like way again.

 

Imagination, playfulness, and creativity are our natural states. I hope in some way, this helps you overcome what is stopping you from being creative. The more of us who go through this process of unleashing our creativity, the more our world will become a beautiful, happy, and harmonious place. Plus, there are people out there like me, who are cheering you on.

 

Today’s Practice: I am creative, playful and imaginative.

 

Reconnectfully Yours,

 

 

Sahil

