10 DAY CHALLENGE: MEASURE HOW YOU’RE DOING

IMG_5152

 

 

I’m currently reading a book called “The Compound Effect” by Darren Hardy, chief editor of Success Magazine. In one part of it, he says, “we are 100% responsible for our lives”. This really resonated with me.

Often, I catch myself making excuses about why I’m not doing what I’m doing, why other people react the way they do, and why I’m getting the results (or lack thereof) I have in my life right now.

 

This message, that I am 100% responsible, really hit home.

 

It has made me take ownership for my words, reactions to others, and what I’m doing with my time.

One way I have started to do this is to measure how I’m doing. For the next 10 days, I invite you to join me. I will be keeping a daily journal detailing how well I’m doing in different areas of life. These areas are my relationships, fitness, nutrition, money spending, and time management. Here is how:

 

1.Make a worksheet

The first column on the left is the hours of the day from 8am in the morning to 10pm at night. The second column, and each column thereafter to the right are for each area of life.

 

2. At the end of the day, record what you have done.

For instance, I will record every time I call my mom to connect with her; when I go to the YMCA for badminton; what I eat for meals and snacks; how much money I spend on food, entertainment, and transit; and what I do with my time at work, on transit, and after work.

 

3. Go back and review the information.

At the end of the 10 days, I will go back and review what I have recorded in the worksheet. I find that by doing this, I’m able to see trends and take steps to improve. For instance, I may realize I need to change how I’m spending my money (i.e. not eating out as often and packing lunches instead), improve my diet (i.e. noticing that I need to eat more fruits), or neglecting my passion projects (i.e. not writing as often as I’d like).

 

4. Make tweaks & know your WHY

Take this information and commit to making the changes you need to make. Instead of trying to change everything at once, pick one area and try to build a habit of doing that new behavior. Then layer on the other changes you want to make, one at a time. It is also important to reinforce the new behavior with a strong WHY behind it. Think about why you want to do it, and why not doing it will be painful.

 

5. Celebrate incremental improvements

When you notice that you’ve made a small improvement, celebrate. Do a happy dance, give yourself a self-five, and let yourself feel great for making a small step towards becoming better. The positive energy you put in reinforcing your growth is what will make it worthwhile. At the end of the day, it isn’t about what we get; it is about who we become.

 

If you need help with accountability, or improving an area of your life in which you’re feeling tension, I am happy to support you. Feel free to connect: sahil@thepotentialists.ca

 

Reconnectfully Yours,

 

 

Sahil

 

