5 REASONS WHY WE LOSE MOTIVATION

IMG_4228

 

 

Three years ago, I decided to launch the Dream Circle initiative. It was such an exciting idea at the time, and I spent countless hours working on it, improving it, and hosting workshops to try out the process. Lately, I’ve been taking time to reflect on what happened to my motivation to host them, and why I no longer feel like it.

 

Here are 5 reasons why I think we lose motivation:

 

  1. It’s not challenging anymore

Initially, hosting a Dream Circle was a challenge. I didn’t know how to put together the workshop content, I didn’t know how to market it, and I didn’t know how to facilitate groups. Since the time I first started, I’ve hosted over 30 Dream Circles across North America. I also got facilitation training, did a TEDx talk about them, and could now host one with little preparation as I know the script and process like the back of my hand.

 

  1. Distraction or other demands

This year, I took a break from speaking and facilitation work. From February until September, I was occupied with studying for the bar exams, and fulfilling my licensing requirements to become a lawyer. Since September, I’ve been working at a law firm, and find myself barely carving out enough time for my health and personal life, let alone working on my speaking and improving my workshops.

 

  1. We lose faith

When I first began, my wish with Dream Circles was that they became a space for people to gather in every city in the world to share their goals and receive support, ideas, and resources to make it happen. The part of me that wants to give up tells me that it isn’t possible anymore, I won’t find enough facilitators, and that perhaps people just don’t want to champion this.

 

  1. We change

I started out with the idea of Dream Circles, but by hosting them over and over in the community in Toronto and Vancouver, and then at conferences, it led to more insights about how to help people connect. So then I created other workshops to facilitate creative and meaningful ways for people to connect, and hosted retreats and gatherings for people to experience a sense of community. Perhaps is isn’t a problem that the Dream Circle isn’t as exciting anymore, because it already served its purpose of being a catalyst for other ideas and opportunities to arise.

 

  1. We believe the critic’s voice

Finally, on the path to achieving anything and being the initiator of something new is always difficult. Along this path, we meet lots of criticism, self-doubt, and really challenging situations and people. For the Dream Circle, I’ve done workshops where my handouts weren’t printed properly by the conference organizers, people told me that I’m selfish for creating it, and people close to me tell me that I shouldn’t do things for the community and should focus on getting a “real job”. As Seth Godin says, for each person who creates something “there are 10 people who say they could have done it better, 100 who question your ability or right to do it, 1000 that say they were just about to do it, and 10000 who don’t care.”

 

This week, I plan on sitting with the discomfort of feeling less motivation towards the Dream Circle workshop which was my baby, helped launch me into an incredible journey, and was my avenue to meeting so many inspiring people. I’m not sure if I will let it go, revamp it, or revitalize the vision I had behind it. I know I’m still an initiator, creative facilitator, and community builder at heart, and something good will come out of this process.

All I know is that momentum and motivation is something we all struggle with.

 

When do you know it is time to give up on a project? How do you get your inspiration and stay motivated?

 

 

Reconnectfully Yours,

 

 

Sahil

 

 

 

